Life Drawing Reflection

Life drawing at first was difficult for me, I had only ever attended one life drawing class before during my foundation year. Initially I thought it wouldn’t be that bad but when I seen the level others were at and the quality of work they were producing made me see that I needed to make improvements. The main issues I came across was getting all the information down on the page in such a short amount of time. But when I was attempting to get the information on the page in the short time I was making errors in terms of the scale and or proportions of the drawing.

The advice that helped me was Mike explaining how the use of basic shapes made it possible to get the general form of the model down the add the rest of the details in with ‘c’ and ‘s’ curves. This made then the initial sketch on the page an easier starting point for the drawing. Once I had understood the what Mike meant my gesture drawings had improved in the quality and I was a lot happier with them.

As the semester moved forward areas such as perspective and tone came into it. Perspective was again hard for me to get my head around since I hadn’t drew much things with the sense of perspective of being involved. From Mike’s help I developed in that area. Although I had improved my drawing there is people who are still better than me in life drawing. I’m happy with the improvements i have made but i feel compared to other’s, the quality of my work is on a lower quality.

At the tail end of the semester we were allowed to use the hour class but draw what we wanted, in terms of what length we wanted each drawing to be. The drawing I spent half an hour on was posted previously on my blog was something i was really happy with. Having a half and hour to do a drawing gave me time to sketch of the basic form but still spend enough time on getting the proportions right. Then adding form and shading to the drawing helped show my skills. I feel as if that drawing in comparison to the general level of the class was where I should be rather than where I was at doing the quick poses.

Returning from Christmas and starting the new semester my life drawing skills had feel a bit just from not drawing as much as i had been . The first class back was just me getting back into the swing of things. Although they weren’t works of art they had the basic shape down like Mike wanted. So I had picked up stuff from the first semester. In general terms I feel as I have improved my drawing in terms of the way life drawing required.

I think life drawing was a good class to have while starting the year to help us understand the connection between 2D and 3D animation. The idea of perspective and tone in 2d drawings can be translated into 3d modelling and this was a great help while learning the skills that would help us make our 15 second films in this semester. I found life drawing to be helpful in getting started in the degree.

 

Leave a Reply

